Recreate a single day: It was a good day 14/2/2011

Standard

It was a good day 14/2/2011

I woke up at some ungodly hour, 5:30 I think it was, and groaned and thought noooo this can’t be true. I had had only about 2 hours of sleep but I was wide awake. I laid there for a while absolutely CRAVING eggs (which is weird because I don’t really like them). After about 20 minutes of hoping I’d fall back asleep, I got up and completely failed at making sunny side up eggs. (Don’t ask, I don’t know how I did it either. I even remember reading directions online.)

Later I called my best friend Manal, and invited her to go to a café so I could get some real breakfast. My mom was up at that time so I kissed her on the cheek before getting out and she said with surprise, “Happy Valentine’s Day darling’.”

I walked into the café’s and smiled as one of the employees was giving a homeless man some coffee. After eating our delish hash brown and pancakes; we decided to get some hot chocolate.

After saying goodbye to my friend, I stood at a busy intersection waiting to cross, I watched car after car speed past me. A lady that was waiting to turn smiled at me while putting on her Oil of Olay hand lotion. That was when it hit me: I want to be in that daily grind. I want to be one of those people getting up at the butt crack of dawn, getting into their freezing cars with their cup of coffee in hand, and heading to their 8-4 job. Ridiculous isn’t it?! I guess it’s because I’ve been out of a job for over a year now and staying at home with nothing to do, sleeping my days away, is getting old. It’s been old for a while now. I’m sure those people with the 8-4 jobs would love to do what I do every day (nothing), but I want what they have. That’s me though, always wanting what I don’t have.

I walked home with my English toffee cappuccino in one hand and my other hand in my pocket (Alanis Morissette.. hah), all the while with a bit of a smile on my face. Even though I couldn’t feel my face or my ears and the wind was blowing something fierce, it was a nice walk. So despite being alone at Valentine’s Day as I recently got my heart broken … And despite being hollered at by two different groups of guys , tripping on a rock, and spilling my hot chocolate on my white jacket – it’s still a good day.
day

16 responses »

  1. Pingback: The Creative Blogger Award! | blabberwockying!

  2. Pingback: The Respect Award! | blabberwockying!

Leave a Reply

