Still cannot get over you

Standard

They say the hardest thing is letting go of someone you love. You can’t go back in time, you can’t change a thing; so, you decide to move on but sometimes it stings really hard.

You know, I wonder about your day, if you are having a good day or a bad day. I wonder if you have come across anything that amuses you. I think about the things I could tell you about my day. It has been a dreary day. Actually, the past three months have been a difficult ones for me. Negativity and sadness have dominated my thinking. Today, in particular, has brought back a sense of hopelessness; I feel like I’m left behind like shells on a seashore, after the sea recedes.

I miss you, and I hope you are missing me too.  You see, I don’t seem to be able to escape the thought of you:  the books I read, the films I watch, all appear to conspire to remind me of you in one way or another. Sometimes, there are hours in the day when I just repeat your name and I don’t even know why.

I am a prisoner in my own mind, subject to my own atypical neurological conditioning, but you set me free when we were together in person. I am clean, I am pure, I am free when I’m with you, and I wouldn’t want to change that for anyone or anything this decrepit world holds for me.

You are the diamond in the rough, and I the prospector, working my fingers to the bone to find you, dirtied and weak, you bring respite to my weary mind.

I hope you can see that I mean everything I say. I’ll be there for you, through thick and thin, no trial or tribulation too difficult, too torturous to endure to feel you in my arms once more. To unlove you is beyond comprehension, such a thing is not to be mentioned.

 If my words don’t give you comfort, then I hope space and time will. Till then, I will wait I for you like the boy that waits for his lost father to come home, and I know you’ll be back sooner than I think, but each waking minute away from you is an eternity.

34 responses »

  1. It’s the hardest thing indeed, we usually refuse to let go I guess because we keep hoping that people will come back but if it’s impossible, we need urgently to let go but still it’s hard…
    I can sense hope at the end, so maybe it’s not time yet to let go…this struggle we have between trying harder or letting go…
    beautiful song as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s hard to let go because we’ve become addicted to them, to their love and comfort they bring to our lives, even though they can sometimes be toxic for us. There is always hope if people let go of their insecurities, and their biblical ego, pride and stubbornness
      Oh that’s my favorite song from Blink182, and I love it has a reference to “Nightmare before Christmas”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yes we’re addicted to the feeling exactly but what I meant when there’s no hope like someone already left for good, maybe died, maybe already not yours at all! But yes we can all let go of our insecurities and ego and fears, love anyway doesn’t go well with pride, we should learn to be vulnerable and humble in its presence
        yes interesting song indeed 🙂 Christmas must be hard time for you hahahah

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ah ok the case of unrequited love, I think in this case time, and giving oneself cold, hard dose of reality should help us get over that “special someone”. I think the hardest one, is when the beloved one dies, because you know for sure they are gone forever. Oh yeah pride doesn’t go well with love, I know that because I have big pride and ego and it seems I’m always attracted to someone with also big ego and pride, perfect combo lol! Oh Christmas is my favorite time in year, always excited about it, have you watched “Nightmare before Christmas”? it’s animated movie by Tim Burton

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes hard dose of reality! Nshallah hahah
        I know what it means to have big ego and pride and it’s tiring actually but we are whom we are! El mashkal ennu the idol foe you is to be attracted to your opposite bass it doesn’t work that way most of the times
        As you said « perfect combo » both rason kbir, bi2abru ba3d!
        Nope I didn’t actually watch the movie and I love Christmas time so much ,also my favorite season

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes we cannot change the way we are, Yeah in perfect world I would be attracted to the opposite of mine, but nothing about me is perfect =) great combo= ticking bomb going to explode anytime:D

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Aaw I hope this is just missing someone who is far away, not a break up moving on post. 😦 Moving on from a break up seems to be very impossible, but trust me you will be able to move on. I had an ex boyfriend for 5 years, and yes I was able to move on and learned to love again. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is the case of breaking up =) Moving on can be difficult; the more intense the relationship the more ones take longer to work through. There is no miracle cure other than time, but at the end like you said we will be able to move on and find love again. And there might be a hope of mending things again

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oh how true what you say!! There is less pain in unfulfilled love for sure, with unfulfilled love your friendship with the other person may remain intact. Indeed we create a beautiful image in our head for them, an image that is so beautiful and flawless and so fake at the same time

      Liked by 1 person

      • “These violent delights have violent ends
        And in their triumph die, like fire and powder,
        Which as they kiss consume.

        The sweetest honey
        Is loathsome in his own deliciousness
        And in the taste confounds the appetite.

        Therefore love moderately; long love doth so; Too swift arrives as tardy as too slow.”
        William Shakespere

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment